logo logo

March 4, 2016 – Nominations open for 2016 Public Health Champion Awards

Toronto Public Health is encouraging the public to nominate individuals and organizations for the 2016 Public Health Champion Awards. Toronto’s Board of Health established these awards in 2008 to recognize leaders in public health.

“Many people are committed to making Toronto a healthier city,” said Councillor Joe Mihevc (Ward 21 St. Paul’s), Chair of the Board of Health. “The Public Health Champion Awards recognize and celebrate the efforts and leadership of individuals and organizations for their hard work protecting and promoting good health to Toronto residents.”

A Board of Health committee will review all nominations and select one individual and one organizational winner based on demonstrated achievement in one or more of the following four areas: providing leadership; fostering collaboration; building community capacity through innovative health promotion strategies; and achieving impact by acting as a catalyst for positive change.

The 2015 Public Health Champion Awards winners were Floydeen Charles-Fridal and Access Alliance Multicultural Health and Community Services.

  • Floydeen Charles-Fridal was chosen for her work with Rexdale Community Health Centre and as President of the Board of Directors at TAIBU Community Health Centre. She helped develop many of TAIBU’s innovative programs, including its dental and oral health, sickle cell, diabetes education and peer nutrition programs. Her efforts have improved access to health services for many of the city’s residents.
  • Access Alliance Multicultural Health and Community Services was chosen for its efforts in establishing a medical clinic to provide health care services to new residents and racialized communities in Toronto. The organization has also been a key partner in collaborations with other service agencies, community organizations and research institutions to increase conversation and partner engagement on accessible health care.

Nominations for this year’s awards are open until April 30. Online submissions, nomination forms, eligibility guidelines and a list of previous winners are available at http://bit.ly/1GHJcTr

This year’s recipients will be honoured at an awards ceremony in July.


More information about the awards is available at http://bit.ly/1GHJcTr.